Poll: Would you all be interested in seeing non-Pokémon content from me?
This poll is closed.
Yes!
50.00%
4 50.00%
No...
50.00%
4 50.00%
Total 8 vote(s) 100%
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

Share:    Facebook Facebook Reddit

[DISCUSSION] How Accurate is Alolan Culture to Hawaiian?
[Image: YX7ob9w.png]
Hey, everybody! It's 0kamii, and I have never made one of my weekly posts this late!

I apologize for the delay, but I still have things to do in the real world everyone once in a while. I can't be making posts for you all 24/7. Anyway, this is a post that I've been teasing for several months now, but there just never seemed to be enough interest for me to actually write it up. However, thanks to some outspoken reads in my previous thread, I see that there are in fact willing readers that want to see my two cents on this subject. So today, or rather tonight, we compare the culture of Alola to that of its inspiration, the Hawaiian Archipelago. A quick disclaimer before we begin: I am not of Hawaiian descent, nor shall I pretend to be. All the information gathered for this post is from family members that are of Pacific Island heritage, and from books at my college's library. If I get anything wrong, or unintentionally misrepresent the people or values of Hawai'i, know that it was certainly not intentional.

All that being out of the way, let's get started! Tonight we dare to ask the question:

How Accurate is Alolan Culture to Hawaiian?

I've decided that instead of going over every aspect of Alolan/Hawaiian culture, which would take hours or possibly days, I'm going to cover four aspects that get the most attention in Sun and Moon. Those aspects, in order of discussion, will be: Values, Food, Religion, and Hierarchy. This way we can look at some of the most prominent aspects of both cultures and see how Alola compares to its source material. So without further introduction, let's jump into Values.

Alolan Values:

[Image: 1*iZpBYr1DnRjea87Fv1MtYA.png]