Share:    Facebook Facebook Reddit

[RATE MY TEAM] First Team VGC 2016
Hello, this is the first team that I'm trying out. I am rather new to competitive Pokemon in general, but I am going through a lot of videos from Aaron Zheng to see the mindset behind his moves. Another thing is I don't have a 3DS of my own and ORAS, this is more so that I can get the early prep in knowing what to do once I get the game. Haven't played many games of Showdown with about 6-7 games with a 3-3/4 record. Very open to suggestions, thank you for your time.

Gardevoir-Mega (F) @ Gardevoirite  
Ability: Trace  
Level: 50  
Shiny: Yes  
EVs: 252 HP / 4 Def / 252 SpA  
Quiet Nature  
IVs: 0 Spe  
- Hyper Voice  
- Trick Room  
- Protect  
- Psychic

Built to be the core of the team. I really like the power she brings in a doubles format. Innitially I was going for a different moveset with the swap from Destiny Bond to Trick Room, which I haven't tested. Right now I feel that I don't have a backup strat in the case that she falls down as the rest of the team plays to counterpick what counters Gardevoir and not having enough knowledge with teambuilding to put a proper mon to fill that backup. Want to stick with Gardevoir regardless but open to expanding the team to go with the trick room or swapping it for a different team aspect.

Groudon-Primal @ Red Orb  
Ability: Desolate Land  
EVs: 252 HP / 252 Atk  
Brave Nature  
- Precipice Blades  
- Protect  
- Rock Slide  
- Fire Punch

Scrafty @ Assault Vest  
Ability: Intimidate  
EVs: 252 HP / 252 Atk / 4 Def  
Brave Nature  
- Fake Out  
- Rock Slide  
- Super Fang  
- Drain Punch