Share:    Facebook Facebook Reddit

[ORAS] To all other beginner shiny hunters out there!
Hi, this is my first thread, so I'm a bit nervous. I mainly just wanted to share my joy a bit, since today, I caught my first shiny Pokemon. Please welcome, Jasper the Sandshrew, to the family!
I've traded some before, but this is the first time I've ever acquired one myself. I don't have the Shiny Charm yet either, so since I was horde hunting, it was a 1/819 chance of getting one. I was determined to go all the way, so imagine my surprise when it only took 220 encounters (according to the shiny counter I was using) before I saw one.
I know how lucky I am, since I studied up on shiny hunting before starting myself. I expected it to take days, if not weeks. Before the horde hunting method, I tried hatching a shiny Seedot using the Masuda Method. In three weeks, I must have hatched at least 300 eggs without a single one being a shiny. Urgh, the frustration!
Now I realise that I just had to find something that suits me and not give up hope. After all, shiny hunting is the ultimate test of patience. Good luck to all of you out there! Who knows, you might get lucky too.
I have 7 shinies; one from chain fishing and the rest from friend safari
Life only happens once. Make the most out of it.

I main Tracer for some reason...
My Friend Safari is Flying with Pidgey, Fletchiender and Swanna. Feel free to add me!

Also, my name is Hayden... Why am I Johnnyspyguy?
Get that Shiny Charme its worh it!You have a 5/4096 chance of getting a shiny when you do hordes. That is a 0.0012% chance of finding a shiny. The shiny charme increases the odds to 5/1365.3 (or 0.00367%)..As for me, I prefer to hatch my shinnies with the Masuda Method. With that method, I am able to control what I get and get good IVS along with it(most of the time).You can also do other things while ur at the Masuda Method,like watching TV or sth like this.

May the patience be with you!Good luck