Share:    Facebook Facebook Reddit

VCG: Looking for physical Mega-Tyranitar build help
Im running a Jolly mega Dragon Dance Tyranitar with 252 HP, 156 Def and 100 SPD im new to competitive battling and this is my first perfect 5IV breed pokemon and im just want to know if i should try another build and if any of the seasoned pro's have any advice (private message if possible) nice to meet everyone and thanks in advance Smile
While Mega Tyranitar isn't as viable in the current VGC 16 with all the primals, Xerneas, and Trick Room-based teams heavily present, the only other team I've seen used Mega Tyranitar is this one Japanese-based team, which I kinda don't count since it was in another format. My problem is using Mega Tyranitar is just that its extremely slow and can't abuse Sand Stream as well given how Primal weathers override all basic weathers, including Sand so you don't see some of Tyranitar's "traditional" partners like Excadrill in play. If you want to see the team here, I'll link it down below, however note that it was made extremely early in the format. Basically the idea is to abuse Yveltal's Dark Aura ability to power up Dark-type hits by about 1.3x. Since Mega Tyranitar has a strong base 164 attack, STAB Crunch with Dark Aura can hit some of the Pokemon in the format really hard. Again not the best team to use for the current meta, but at least something to try out.