Share:    Facebook Facebook Reddit

Viability and Frequency of Sun Teams for VGC 2015?
While still on my quest to create a team of hopefully powerful (and super adorable) Pokémon, I stumbled about a thread discussing Sun Teams and Cherrim. I'm still rather new to learning about the meta game and various methods of climbing your way through the ranks, so I wanted some honest feedback on this.

I often see and hear about Rain Teams, but I was wondering... are Sun Teams actually a viable option and/or something you might see as well? Could Cherrim be used with the right group? And, if so, how could you feasibly even run this Pokémon? Off the top of my head, I'd assume that you'd pair it with something like Ninetails, since I know that beautiful fox does have the Drought Hidden Ability. I guess Mega Charizard Y would work, too.

Also, if you were going to attempt to execute something like this, is Cherrim better used as a support or more of a Special Attacker? Its base stats don't seem that bad to me, but I don't trust myself to determine something like this.

Thanks for any and all advice!

xx
Pretty sure you only see Cherrim as support, I don't think it would be good to focus on Sp. Atk.
(Mar 29, 2015, 07:37 AM)KevMan Wrote: Pretty sure you only see Cherrim as support, I don't think it would be good to focus on Sp. Atk.

Okay, I see.

So, would you be looking at an EV spread like 252 HP / 252 Defense / 4 Speed? Or would something like 252 HP / 252 Defense / 4 Special Defense be better?

I'm not sure this is something I'd honestly mess with, but I'm curious to learn about other strategies some people may use.

Thanks!

xx
I believe the best EV spread would be 252 HP / 252 Defense / 4 Special Defense. At least as a general spread. I don't know if Cherrim has the potential to live many super effective blasts to the face, especially with so many Talonflames, Charizards, and Thunduruses running around.