Share:    Facebook Facebook Reddit

[RATE MY TEAM] Team Building Work In Progress - VGC 2015
Brick 
So here is whats up. This is my first time doing a serious VGC team build ever. A lot of this might be rookie mistakes as in choosing what you've heard is good vs what has good synergy with other team members type of stuff. Please be understanding, but not afraid to rip ideas apart as long as you can show reasons why.

I am familiar with the rules of VGC and the meta in general. I'm not looking to be directed or told what to do but am looking more for suggestions or a heading as to which direction to look for improvements.

So to make this thread relevant to others on the forums who have read and watched a lot, but are still not quite sure where to start in team building for your first time hopefully this can help others like I hope it helps me.

Thank you Rogue for the team building and VGC replay threads. Much help.

I'm not the largest fan of using legendaries, but if it is just an amazing mind blowing addition that stitches the team together I can concede.

I am also not sure about EV spreads quite yet, though I can list a general idea of what I want them to be. Seems kind of redundant to set EV's if they're going to change based on team composition. I also tend to default to bulk over offense for natures and EV's, which I know is a habit I need to fix. Slap my hand accordingly.  

Here we go.

Umbreon @ Leftovers
Ability: Inner Focus
EV: Bulk, bulk and more bulk. HP/Def/SDef
Careful Nature
Curse
Payback
Moonlight
Yawn/Toxic/Snarl

The set I fell in love with, though I know toxic stall is not a big thing in VGC. Payback is there to work off of the boosts provided by Curse. Moonlight is to heal HP up. Yawn and Snarl are provided as alternatives to Toxic. Yawn to force a switch and give me extra turns to Moonlight/Curse, Snarl as a counter to the amount of special attackers in the game and increase Umbreon's longevity.