Share:    Facebook Facebook Reddit

[RATE MY TEAM] Building my first team!
Video 
Hi everyone, so I'm brand new to the competitive Pokemon environment! I have read all the material for beginners on this site and many others and tried to learn as much as I could before posting for help. It was a real struggle not to just post "build me a team pl0x" straight away because getting started for the first time is sooooo confusing  Blush

I spent quite a while chopping and changing teams as really I had no idea what made a good team synergize well even after reading the various guides, as I simply didn't have first hand experience of them in game. I quickly realised I needed to get something made that was reasonable and followed a theme I liked the sound of, and then get playing with it.

I decided to build my team around Ampharos as he as been one of my favorite Pokemon for a while now. After some light reading about him I understood that in order to have any real fighting chance a team around him would have to employ the trick room strategy. I then built a team around it to the best of my ability  Cool  and proceeded onto Pokemon Showdown. So for a total newb I would actually say I did alright as I think I won roughly as many as I lost over around 15-20 games!

Before posting this I read the rules about threads with the RMT prefix and I will try to be as thorough and detailed as possible but please understand that I quite literally chose a lot of my Pokemon based purely of persona affection and my EV spreads are pulled from Smogon as a majority!

Without further a do, here is my beautiful monstrosity:

The core of my team is my first 3 Pokemon, Ampharos, Jellicent and Sylveon and while I understand it might not be the strongest if possible I would really like to keep these three pokemon as the core of my team! As for the rest, anything goes!

[Image: ampharos-mega.gif]
Ampharos @ Ampharosite
Ability: Static
Level: 50
EVs: 252 HP / 252 SpA / 4 SpD
0 Speed IVs
Quiet